Research prize

Michael Endres Prize

The Michael Endres Prize is a research and teaching award, bestowed annually since 2017 on a distinguished scholar working on topics related to the Hertie School’s research and teaching agenda. Since 2020, the prize has been awarded as a 10-month Visiting Professorship at the school’s Jacques Delors Centre, a research centre and think tank focused on European governance.

The Michael Endres Prize is named for the long-time Chairman and current honorary Chairman of the Hertie Foundation’s Board of Trustees, Michael Endres, who was instrumental in founding the school in 2003 and who has helped guide its successful development since. 


Information for applicants

Application deadline: 1 September 2022

Nominees for the professorship may be legal scholars, political economists or political scientists (or scholars from related disciplines such as political sociology or political theory) whose research focuses on European integration, including its comparative dimension. Both younger and more senior academics are encouraged to apply. The holder of the position should be present in Berlin most of the time.

The scholar is affiliated with the Jacques Delors Centre, an integral part of the Hertie School, which brings together faculty members, postdoctoral and doctoral researchers interested in politics, law, and the political economy of European integration. As a research institute and think tank under one roof, the centre is home to a vibrant, interdisciplinary and international group of scholars.

What we offer

  • A vibrant and growing international and interdisciplinary research community
  • The possibility to teach on a voluntary basis
  • A stipend of 5000€/month (applications for one semester or for the entire academic year are possible)

What you should send us

  • CV and list of publications
  • An outline of your plans during your stay (max. 2000 words). No need to design grand research projects, we simply want to know what you plan to do
  • an indication of whether you apply for a ten-months stipend or a five-months stipend
  • For more information, contact Markus Jachtenfuchs (jachtenfuchs[at]


Current and former recipients

Laureate 2022

  • Lisa Dellmuth is Associate Professor of International Relations (IR) at Stockholm University and Director of PhD Studies in IR at the Department of Economic History and International Relations.She obtained her PhD in political science from the University of Mannheim (Germany), was awarded post-doctoral fellowships at Stockholm University and the Stockholm Resilience Centre, and spent time at the Duke University, Trinity College Dublin, the University of Bergen, and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, among others, as a visiting scholar

The Michael Endres Prize (2017-2020)

Laureate 2021

  • Antoine Vauchez is a Research Professor in political sociology and law at the National Center for Scientific Research at the University Paris 1-Sorbonne and a permanent Visiting Professor at iCourts centre of excellence in Copenhagen. Vauchez is engaged in historical, political and critical sociology of law, researching fields such as international courts, judicial politics and law in relation to transnational politics and the European Union. Previously, he was a post-doctoral fellow at the American Bar Foundation (Northwestern University), a Marie Curie fellow at the Robert Schuman Center (EUI), and Visiting Professor at various universities (Amsterdam University, Columbia University, Luiss, NYU Jean Monnet Center, Université libre de Bruxelles).

Laureate 2020

  • Frank Schimmelfennig, Professor and Chair of the Center for European Politics at the Center for Comparative and International Studies of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich He is a member of the executive committee of the European Union Studies Association and a member of the editorial advisory boards for Cooperation and Conflict, Journal of European Public Policy, and the Journal of International Relations and Development. He has also held visiting professorships at the University of Constance, the University of Düsseldorf, the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich and the Institute of Advanced Studies in Vienna.  

Laureates 2019

  • Adrienne Héritier, Emeritus Professor of Social and Political Sciences at the European University Institute (EUI) in Florence. Previously, she worked at the Max-Planck group for the study of common goods in Bonn. Héritier’s research focuses on European policymaking, comparative public policy, European decision-making processes and theories of institutional change. She is a member of the Berlin Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, and the Academia Europae, and she holds the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the German Research Foundation. She also holds an honorary doctorate from UCLouvain, among others.

  • Kathleen Thelen, Ford Professor of Political Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), is also Immediate Past President of the American Political Science Association. Her work focuses on the origins and evolution of political-economic institutions in the rich democracies. She was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2015 and was awarded honorary degrees at the London School of Economics and the European University Institute in Florence, among others. She is one of the General Editors of the Cambridge University Press Series in Comparative Politics and a permanent external member of the Max Planck Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung in Cologne, Germany.

Laureate 2018

  • Anne-Marie Slaughter is currently the President and CEO of New America, a think tank and civic enterprise with offices in Washington and New York. She is also the Bert G. Kerstetter ‘66 University Professor Emerita of Politics and International Affairs at Princeton University. From 2009–2011 she served as director of Policy Planning for the United States Department of State, the first woman to hold that position. Prior to her government service, Dr. Slaughter was the Dean of Princeton’s Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs from 2002–2009 and the J. Sinclair Armstrong Professor of International, Foreign, and Comparative Law at Harvard Law School from 1994-2002.

Laureate 2017

  • Theodor Baums, Professor for Civil, Trade and Business Law at the Goethe University in Frankfurt am Main