Student event

futurEU Competition 2022: final round

Join us for the futurEU Final event 2022 to hear students and PhD researchers from CIVICA present their visionary proposals for the EU.

After a successful first edition, the second edition of the futurEU Competition prompted students and PhD researchers across CIVICA to participate in a policy exercise on the future of the European Union. 33 teams made up of 105 CIVICA students and PhD researchers registered to propose bold EU policies for young Europeans. Experts of the Jacques Delors Centre at the Hertie School have invited the best eight teams to defend their ideas during the oral rounds of the futurEU Competition.
On 8 April, the final teams will present their visionary ideas for EU policy change.

•    Welcome and introduction
•    Keynote: Damian Boeselager, Member of European Parliament (MEP) and recipient of the
     Hertie School’s 2020 Alumni Achievement Award
•    EU reform proposals presented by the two finalist teams
•    Q&A session with the audience
•    Message from the futurEU team
•    Announcement of winning team

Registration is required. >> Register here

futurEU partners are CIVICA, Jacques Delors Centre Berlin and the Hertie School. futurEU is financed by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) with funding from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).


Meet our judges

  • Thu Ngyuen, Policy Fellow, Jacques Delors Centre and Chair of the panel

  • Nicole Koenig, Deputy Direcor, Jacques Delors Centre

  • Heidi Marleen Bräuer, Project lead Franco-German Dialogue, Jacques Delors Centre

  • Linda Hewitt, Press and Public Relations Officer, Jacques Delors Centre